top of page

Global pharmacy awards go to pharmacists in seven countries

Buenos Aires, 28 August 2016-Global pharmacy awards go to pharmacists in seven countries eleven pharmacists and pharmaceutical scientists from seven countries were recognised for their services to pharmacy at the opening ceremony of the 76 th World Congress of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences in Buenos Aires, Argentina. They received awards from the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP) as follows:

  • André Bédat Award to Dr Ana I. Martinez (Puerto Rico, USA)

  • Distinguished Science Award to Professor Shinji Yamashita (Japan)

  • Joseph A. Oddis Award for Exceptional Service to FIP to Dr Dieter Steinbach (Germany)

  • FIP Fellowships:

  1. Professor Ralph Altiere (USA)

  2. Professor Michael Anisfeld (USA)

  3. Professor Parisa Aslani (Australia)

  4. Mr Thony Björk (Sweden)

  5. Professor Timothy Chen (Australia)

  6. Mrs Manjiree Gharat (India)

  7. Professor Michiho Ito (Japan)

  8. Ms Lindsay McClure (United Kingdom)

AIDS pharmacist given FIP’s highest honour for practitioners

Ana I. Martinez, winner of the André Bédat Award, FIP’s highest honour for pharmacy practitioners, began her career as a hospital pharmacist. She then went on to lead the Pharmaceutical Affairs Branch in the Division of AIDS (DAIDS) of the US National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases until 2015. In this role she conceived and implemented a clinical trial model which incorporated DAIDS pharmacists in the design of clinical trials and clinical site pharmacists in the conduct of research studies. She successfully brought this model to fruition initially in the US and subsequently in Africa, Asia and Latin America. This approach led to a strong involvement of pharmacists in HIV/AIDS clinical trials.

On winning the award, Dr Martinez said: “I am deeply honoured and humbled to receive the André Bédat Award. This represents the culmination of a long career in research pharmacy. I share this award with my colleagues in the entire Programme around the world in which I have been privileged to participate.”

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page